Meet the Artist: Elizabeth Lane Christopher

December 26, 2011 § 1 Comment

We are continuing to profile the NC artists invited to present work during NCDF Community Day, January 28, 2012.  Meet Elizabeth Christopher!

Elizabeth Lane Christopher will present a solo work in the NCDF Community Day showing.  The dance, describes Elizabeth, draws on the “memories and fleeting images of my beloved late sister and is additionally an exploration of spiritualism.”

Elizabeth holds an MFA in Choreography from UNCG and a BA in dance with a minor in music from Winthrop University. Her professional performance career includes contemporary and commercial work such as John Gamble Dance Theater, Cyrus Art Production, Carnival Cruise Lines lead dancer, Paramount Carowinds Production Performer, CPCC Summer Stock theater company member, and various independent performances. Elizabeth serves as School Director and instructor for Dance Project: the School at City Arts and additionally teaches as adjunct faculty at UNCG and NC A&T University.

Elizabeth talks about her training and choreographic process:

At age 7 (first grade) I became a hobby dancer taking class once a week.  I began studying more seriously at age 11, dancing for multiple hours each week.

During my undergraduate studies I had a wake up call about the differences of assembling a list of technical skills versus creating art.  It was at this point that I became intrigued to study the process of dance making.

My process is constantly evolving, but generally I always start with some point of inspiration or concept that I want to explore.  From there I often build a movement vocabulary, find music and eventually piece all of it together.  The revision process is constant and often continues after a piece has been already been presented.

What else is Elizabeth up to these days, besides choreographing?

EXERCISE!! I am an exercise addict!  Over the past year I have begun running and will run my first half marathon in January.  I hope to do my 1st marathon before the end of 2012.

I am redesigning and running a dance program for youth and adult students.  The school is another facet of Dance Project, we are the School at City Arts.

I am a relatively newly wed and am enjoying establishing life after graduate school in North Carolina.

Tune in next Monday to learn a little more about the lives of our other NCDF Community Day choreographers!  More information about this full day of dance, including master classes, performance, and a chance to get a professional quality DVD made of one of your dances, here or on our website.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Meet the Artist: Elizabeth Lane Christopher

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meet the Artist: Elizabeth Lane Christopher at Follow the Festival.

meta

