Meet the Dance Project Board Members

May 21, 2012 § 1 Comment

Ever wonder about the people behind the scenes at the Dance Project?

Introducing the Dance Project Board Members – a driving force behind Dance Project! We asked a few of the board members to give us an idea of their role with the Dance Project and who they are in the wider community.

Lee Stringfellow

Lee Stringfellow performing 

Dance Project: How long have you been on the Dance Project Board of Directors and what is your role?

Lee Stringfellow: I just joined the Board, and I’m so glad to be part of it! Since I’m new to the board I am not sure what role I will have, but I’m sure it’s gonna be fun!

DP: What is the most rewarding part of serving on Dance Project Board of Directors? Most challenging?

LS: Dance Project  is so important in so many ways…for me, it gives so many people here the opportunity to dance, to appreciate and to learn about dance. The fact that we give people the opportunity to dance, who normally couldn’t. It’s about giving someone a dream. Challenging? Ask me again in a year, but I’m sure I’ll say, “money”.

DP: Tell us a little bit more about yourself – where you were born, what you do, pets…

LS: I grew up in a small town in West-Central Georgia, and went to school there. I own Prive’ Salon in the Cultural District, Downtown, for the past 16 years, and have been a dancer in a touring company, Director of in-flight training for a regional airline, and hairdresser. I have a dog, Oscar.

DP: Favorite artistic hobby?

LS:  DUH. DANCE. Anyway I can.

DP: Favorite thing to do around the Triad?

LS:  The community theaters in the Triad are some of the best I’ve ever seen. I’ve enjoyed seeing, supporting, and being in some of the best, most professional productions around.

DP: You are given two free tickets to any show/concert/play. What do you go see and who do you take with you?

LS: 2 tickets are NOT ENOUGH! Recently, I saw the production “SLEEP NO MORE” in NYC. It was the MOST PROFOUND PIECE OF MODERN DANCE I HAVE EVER SEEN. Based on Macbeth, simultaneous scenes covering three warehouses, audience members wear masks, following and interacting with characters throughout. It was like Tim Burton meets ‘Twin Peaks’ meets ‘The Shining’… it was like waking though a dream… and NOT yours. Google it. I dare ya!

Sarah Vincent

A picture of Sarah Vincent (taken years ago) combined with one of  great, great grandmother (taken even longer ago) as a result of Vincent’s interest in old photographs.

Dance Project: How long have you been on the Dance Project Board of Directors and what is your role?

Sarah Vincent: I have been on the board almost 12 years. I help with events and various graphic design needs including the new logo, ads, promotional items etc. I design and put together the program for the Greensboro Festival.

DP: Why were you interested in joining Dance Project Board of Directors?

SV: I joined the Board because though not a dancer myself my mother was. She introduced me to modern dance years ago and being on the board is a way to continue her love and support of dance. My experiences on the board are something I can share with her. As with most of the arts, dance struggles to survive. The Dance Project is important to me as a means of making sure there is dance for any and everyone who is interested in the cultural health of our community.

DP: What is the most rewarding part of serving on Dance Project Board of Directors? Most challenging?

SV: Having been on the board for so long I find it very rewarding to see the progress that has been made in the quality of the Festival and the growth of the school. We’ve finally made the leap into the 21st century by embracing new ways to communicate with the community via a new web site and social media. By far the most challenging aspect is coming up with ways to attract the attention and support of donors.

DP: Tell us a little bit more about yourself – where you were born, what you do, pets..

SV: I basically grew up in North Carolina. Went to Pratt Institute in NYC, Cranbrook Academy of Art in Detroit, UNC-G and NCSU-plus various craft schools such as Penland in the NC mountains. I am a textile designer for Culp Inc. headquartered in High Point since 1985.

DP: Favorite artistic hobby?

SV: I can’t stop taking pictures. Got my first camera 53 years ago and have taken pictures ever since. Had my own B/W darkroom for several years. Have always been fascinated by old pictures and recently began restoring them.

Amanda Diorio

Amanda and her husband Mike on their wedding day last June at the Proximity Hotel, home of the Print Works Bistro.
 

Dance Project: How long have you been on the Dance Project Board of Directors and what is your role?

Amanda Diorio: I have only recently joined the board of the Dance Project.  I officially joined in January 2012 and so far my role has been to provide feedback as a teacher in the school and a member of the local dance community.

DP: Why were you interested in joining Dance Project Board of Directors? Why is Dance Project important to you?

AD: I had never thought about joining the board until I received an invitation last year. I was honored by the invitation and once the idea was put in my head I thought it would be a great way to become more involved with a project I already care a great deal about. The Dance Project is important to me because it is helping to support the art of dance and the dance community in Greensboro.  These are things we need to expand, and the Dance Project  has done a great job so far in this regard and I hope we can continue to do so in the future.

DP: What is the most rewarding part of being on Dance Project Board of Directors? The most challenging?

AD: I find the most rewarding aspect of being on the board is that we make things happen, creating numerous dance opportunities in the community.  I love to choreograph because it is making something out of nothing.  The Dance Project does this also; we create classes, events and performances that were not there before.  The most challenging aspect is getting the word out about what we are doing. The community needs to know more about what we do and us.

DP: Tell us a little bit more about yourself – where you were born, what you do, pets…

AD: I grew up in the suburbs south of Boston where I studied acting, music, dance and gymnastics. After graduating from my local high school I went on to Temple University where I received my BFA in Dance in 2002.  Later I went on to get my MFA in Choreography from UNC- Greensboro in 2010. I teach dance for a living in many places.  I am an adjunct faculty member at UNCG, Elon University and Salem College.  I also teach adult and youth classes at The Dance Project: School at City Arts and do a lot of guest teaching at High Schools and studios in NC, SC and VA.  I very much enjoy teaching in so many diverse learning environments and meeting students with various abilities and backgrounds.  It helps me remember that every student is an individual and that as a teacher I need to be open to what the students’ needs are. I have 2 kitties, Peter and Sasha and a 3 year old dog named Jezabel.  They are so sweet and I love to spend time with them.  In my spare time I love to read and watch The Closer while they snuggle with meMy husband and I love to go out to eat and watch dramatic TV shows like The Wire and Dexter.

DP: What is your favorite artistic hobby (or one that you wish you were good at!)?

AD: I always joke that I am a dancer only because I could not be a singer but it’s the truth.  If I were given the gift of song I would have definitely tried my hand at being a rock star or a triple threat on Broadway but alas dancing seemed to be my strong point.  I love working in musical theater because it combines three of my great loves, movement, music and acting into one and I enjoy seeing myself and others rise to the challenge of doing all 3 well.


Thanks to these board members for sharing a bit of themselves with us!  Are you interested in volunteering, interning, or joining the Board of the Dance Project?  Send us an email: danceprojectinc@gmail.com.  

Coming soon on the blog: A preview of the 12-13 Festival season!  Stay tuned…

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Meet the Dance Project Board Members

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meet the Dance Project Board Members at Follow the Festival.

meta

