Audience Choice Show: Paulina Bracone

January 6, 2014 § Leave a comment

“My mother was a ballet dancer until she got married at the age of 16. When she was pregnant with me, she would take ballet classes. I believe her love for dance just passed through me. There is a joke in my family that I came out with pointe shoes on. I am 24 and have been dancing for 22 years and it’s who I am and who I will always be.”

Paulina Bracone

Paulina Bracone

I’m Paulina Bracone. I’m 24 years old. I’m from Florida but I have also lived in North Carolina, New York, California, and Argentina. I studied in various studios in Florida, studied under Kirstie Spadie at the NC Dance Institute in Raleigh, NC and I graduated from the University of NC School of the Arts in high school with a diploma in contemporary dance. I studied for a year and a half at State University of New York at Purchase for ballet and contemporary dance. After living in New York, I lived in Los Angeles, California. While I was there, I took classes at the EDGE and worked at Universal Studios Hollywood as a character performer. I decided to live in Argentina, and stay with my family who’s from there. I stayed for two years and learned so much from being around a different culture and being with my family. I also danced with the main contemporary company of the province while I was there. Now, I live in Raleigh, NC and I’m really happy with how my life is.

Still of Paulina Bracone performing with the Ballet Contemporaneo Del Chaco in Resistencia, Chaco, Argentina. Photo by FlordeColor Fotografia.

Still of Paulina Bracone performing with the Ballet Contemporaneo Del Chaco in Resistencia, Chaco, Argentina. Photo by FlordeColor Fotografia.

Paulina choreographed a solo set to a compilation of music and speeches from people such as Hans Zimmer and Les Brown. The mix inspired her to think more positively about life and her capability to continue growing. The piece is based on improvisation and is concerned with how an audience feels, wanting to pass along the desire to feel stronger and live a life of gratitude. Paulina choreographed Dreams for Bonus Day and will be performing the piece herself.

“If you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful.” -Les Brown

Check out an improvisation Paulina did with Juan Cid, a former dancer with The National Contemporary Dance Company in Buenos Aires:

Dreams will be presented in the Audience Choice Show at 3:00pm, during the NCDF Bonus Day in Greensboro.  Along with 2 other emerging choreographers, Paulina will present her work and answer questions from the audience.  The Audience Favorite will go on to perform in Greensboro on the NC Dance Festival performance in November.

For the full NCDF Bonus Day schedule, click here.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Audience Choice Show: Paulina Bracone at Follow the Festival.

meta

