Day in the Life: Dance Project Interns Alaina And Dylan

April 1, 2015 § Leave a comment

Alaina: I love interning with Dance Project! I really feel like the work I get to do every day makes a difference for the organization. My days are full of brainstorming, data analysis, marketing work… Anything really! It’s been a great supplement to what I’m learning in school–as an artist, it’s equally as important to be great at my craft as it is to be able to do the administrative work. Working here has helped me get better at both! -Alaina Monts, Intern 

10:45- The first thing I do when I come into the office is check all of our social media accounts (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). I’ll update all of the pages, and look for ways that we can interact with other online accounts. 

12:30- There are quite a few activities that I’ve been working on for a while and can continuously come back to if there isn’t too much other work that needs to be done. This week I’m looking up pictures to accompany the #moderndancemonday posts that go up weekly on the Van Dyke Dance Group’s page. 

1:45- Once a week I go straight from working with the festival to working with the school. I’ll usually grab a quick lunch while I check the voicemail and take down any necessary messages. 

2:00- Lots of the work I do for the school is data entry and analysis. We always keep track of the monthly attendance averages for each class; that’s primarily what I’m working on today. It’s time-consuming but necessary work. 

4:00- I usually draft our monthly newsletter. I do most of the formatting and write most of the content, but I’ll always get it double checked before it’s sent off to all of the parents and students. As soon as I’m done with this, I’ll head to class–one of the great perks of interning here is that I can take any of the classes I want at no charge!



Dylan: I started this internship to fulfill a class requirement and it’s been such a learning experience! Basically, I do a lot of things that people don’t really have time to worry about! It’s a lot of fun!–Dylan Reddish, Intern


11:00- I check in with Lauren and Milanda first. I’ll file attendance things, or adjust tuition with square. 

11:30- I do a lot of the organization for the Performance Company…Today I’m drafting an email to invite everyone to come see Ballet 422 at Geeksboro. I’ve been pulling all the costumes for the shows; next week we’re compiling costumes for the spring showcase.

1:00- After two hours I go upstairs to check in with Anne. We’ve been doing a lot of the troubleshooting and preliminary organizing for the Festival. I wrote a grant letter last week and created interview questions for the 25 promo videos we’re doing. I made a chart on when grants are due and what we need to compile for them.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day in the Life: Dance Project Interns Alaina And Dylan at Follow the Festival.

meta

